THE UNIVERSITY OF TEXAS AT SAN ANTONIO DOCUMENTS AND PROCEEDINGS OF THE GRADUATE COUNCIL ACTION MINUTES

ORDER OF BUSINESS

TEAMS 11/2/2021 3:30-5:00

- I. Call to order and taking of attendance
 - Present: Corey Sparks, Drew Stephen, Elaine Sanders, Elisha Reynolds, Glenn Dietrich, Guadalupe Carmona, Heather Trepal, Hung-Da Wan, Jorge Solis, Juan Manuel Nino, Kenneth Walker, Matthew Troia, Megan Augustyn, Melissa Wallace, Michael Cepek, Natasha Burns, Patricia Jaramillo, Ram Tripathi, Richard Harris, Samer Dessouky, Terrence Hill, Victor Villarreal, Wei-Ming Lin, William Land, Zachary Tonzetich, Jurgen Engelberth, Shamshad Khan, Amina Qutub
 - Absent: Arkangel Cordero, Ritu Mathur, Ambika Mathur, Angelique Arroyo, Angel Lombardi, Ovidio Giberga, Jamie McDonald, Michael Baumann, Alexis Godet, Nicolas Large, Zijun Wang, Saugata Datta, Xiaoyin Wang
 - Visitor: Ginger Hernandez, Anson Ong, Chad Mahood, Jose Lopez-Ribot, Juan Manuel Sanchez, Enrique Aleman Jr., Jake Sullivan, Gabrielle Zepeda
- II. Consent Agenda
 - October 2021 minutes passed with no discussion
 - Special Membership passed with no discussion
- III. Reports
 - A. Committee on Graduate Programs and Courses
 - Corey Sparks will serve as the committee Chair
 - Upcoming reviews:
 - Closing of the E-STEM certificate and of the Special Education Advocacy certificate
 - 2 Lupita Carmona (ILT) provided context regarding the closing of the E-STEM certificate and Special Education Advocacy certificate
 - Proposal for a new graduate certificate in Materials Science
 - Proposal for a new master's in Materials Science
 - B. Council Chair
 - Jurgen Engelberth indicated that all standing committees of the Graduate School are filled
 - No report from the Council Chair on behalf of the Executive Committee
 - No report from the Faculty Senate
 - C. Dean of Graduate School
 - Ambika Mathur was not in attendance
 - Jeff Ragsdale provided updates regarding graduate processors
 - Now located in Flawn Building, available Tuesdays and Thursdays from 8:00am 12:00pm; support is currently available from two staff members
 - Graduate processors will not be calculating GPAs (departments are responsible for calculating GPA for last 60 hours)

- Additional questions regarding graduate school admissions will be addressed by Eric Cooper (Associate Vice Provost for Enrollment Operations and University Registrar) and the office of Strategic Enrollment
- D. Secretary
 - Seeking nominations for Officers for the Graduate Council Executive Committee
 - At-Large Member (one position)
 - Student member (one position)
- E. Committee on Graduate Program Evaluation
 - No report
- IV. Unfinished Business
- V. New Business
 - Graduate Council members are working on a resolution to ensure that if UTSA receives funding via the National Research University Fund (NRUF), funds will be used to support graduate students, specifically PhD students
 - Council members noted that as faculty and graduate students are generating research that is used to attain NRUF, it is reasonable for faculty and graduate students to be supported by NRUF funds
 - Graduate Council members are asked to share data supporting the resolution (e.g., data indicating that programs lost PhD students because of poor funding)
 - Jurgen Engelberth will share the resolution document with all members of the Graduate Council via TEAMS
- VI. Adjournment