## THE UNIVERSITY OF TEXAS AT SAN ANTONIO DOCUMENTS AND PROCEEDINGS OF THE GRADUATE COUNCIL ACTION MINUTES

## **ORDER OF BUSINESS**

TEAMS MEETING 3/7/23 3:30-5:00

I. Call to order and taking of attendance

Present: Victor Villarreal, William Land, Elaine Sanders, Glenn Dietrich, HungDa Wan, Ambika Mathur, Matthias Hofferberth, Jeffrey Howard, Terrence Hill, Richard J Harris, Rene Zenteno, Jeff Ragsdale, Min Wang, Allison Veach, Michael Cepek, Ovidio Giberga, Patricia Jaramillo, Derek Robertson, Zachary Tonzetich, Dakai Zhu, Denver Brown, Bedrettin Yazan, Fathali Firoozi, Judy Haschenburger, James McDonald, Zaid Haddad, Samer Dessouky, Ginger Hernandez, Priya Prasad, Abraham Gibson, Wei-Ming Lin, Alfonso Apicella, Arkangel Cordero, Stephanie Westney, Amina Qutub, Guadalupe Carmona

Absent: Heather Trepal, Angela Lombardi, Kenneth Walker, Pablo Requena, Andrea Aleman, Byongook Moon, Alicia Swan

## II. Consent Agenda

- February 2023 minutes
- Special memberships

## III. Reports

- A. Committee on Graduate Programs and Courses
  - No report
- B. Council Chair
  - Faculty senate update
  - Vote to approve 2023-2025 Graduate Catalog
- C. Dean of Graduate School
  - No report
- D. Secretary
  - Seeking nominations for September 2023 May 2024 positions
    - o Chair
    - Secretary
    - o Parliamentarian
    - At-Large
    - o Student Representative
- E. Committee on Graduate Program Evaluation
  - No report
- IV. Unfinished Business
  - None
- V. New Business

- Discussion about changing the bylaws to allow Fixed Term Track Faculty (FTT) to serve as the sole chair of thesis committees
  - i. Zaid Haddad (serving as a representative of the Faculty Senate FTT Task Force)
- VI. Adjournment