THE UNIVERSITY OF TEXAS AT SAN ANTONIO DOCUMENTS AND PROCEEDINGS OF THE GRADUATE COUNCIL ACTION MINUTES ORDER OF BUSINESS

April 1, 2014

University Room BB 2.06.04 3:30-5:00 p.m.

Present:

Richard Armendariz, Mike Baumann, Onur Bayar, Edward Burian, Michael Cepek, Alberto Cordova, Gloria Crisp, Dennis Davis, Sara DeTurk, Jurgen Engelberth, Donald Goess, Kevin Grant, Anne Hardgrove, Judy Haschenburger, Vic Heller, Steven Hoffman, Camaron Hole, Eugene John, Gerald Juhnke, Myung Ko, Donald Kurtz, Barbara McCabe, Michael McDonald, James O'Grady, Malgorzata Oleszkiewicz-Peralba, Cornel Pasnicu, Billie Jo Rodriguez, Patricia Sanchez, Elaine Sanders, Hatim Sharif, Page Smith, Johnelle Sparks, Josh Thurow, Marie Tillyer, Lila Truett, Walter Wilson, Weining Zhang

Absent:

Bernadette Andrea, Joshua Cavazos, Liao Chen, Ender Finol, Michael Gardin, Jeannie Hahl, Ram Tripathi

Excused:

Dorothy Flannagan, Jeff Halley, Mary Hatch, Drew Stephen

Visitors:

Rajendra Boppana, Norma Guerra, Victor Villarreal

I. Call to Order and Taking of Attendance

The March meeting of the Graduate Council was called to order at 3:30 p.m. by Council Chair Dr. Elaine Sanders. Dr. Sanders asked for a vote to suspend the by-laws in order to allow for Dr. Kevin Grant to present the report of the Committee on Graduate Programs and Courses, for Dr. Vic Heller to present the report of the Committee on Graduate program Evaluation, and for the visitors to address the Council. Motion was made and seconded by Dr. Grant, and approved unanimously.

II. Approval of the Minutes

Dr. Sanders asked for a motion to approve the minutes of the March 4, 2014 meeting as written. A motion was made by Dr. Johnelle Sparks, seconded by Dr. Hatim Sharif, and the motion passed unanimously.

III. Reports

A. Committee on Graduate Programs and Courses (Kevin Grant)

Dr. Grant presented the proposal for the Graduate Certificate in Language Acquisition and Bilingual Psychoeducational Assessment. Discussion followed. The committee's report was a motion to approve the proposal, seconded by Dr. Gerald Juhnke and approved unanimously.

B. Committee on Graduate Program Evaluation (Vic Heller)

Dr. Heller presented the committee's report on the Computer Science Program Review. Discussion followed. Dr. Heller made the motion to accept the report, seconded by Dr. Barbara McCabe and approved unanimously.

C. Council Chair (Elaine Sanders)

No Report

D. Dean of the Graduate School (Dorothy Flannagan)

No Report

E. Secretary (Vic Heller)

Dr. Heller placed in nomination; Dr. Elaine Sanders for Chair, Dr. Vic Heller for Secretary, and Dr. Johnelle Sparks for Parliamentarian. Additional nominations were solicited. None were recommended. Dr. Heller's motion was seconded by Dr. Sara DeTurk and the motion passed unanimously.

F. Membership Committee (Michael Cepek)

Dr. Michael Cepek presented Special Membership applications. (See Attachment A) The vote of the committee served as a motion to accept. The motion was seconded by Dr. Edward Burian; the motion passed unanimously.

G. Committee on Academic Policy and Requirements (Sara DeTurk)

Dr. DeTurk presented an update on proposed dual degree policy changes being discussed by the CAPR for the upcoming Graduate Catalog. (See Attachment B). Discussion ensued. A motion was made by Dr. Lila Truett and seconded by Dr. Burian, the motion passed unanimously.

IV. Unfinished Business

None

V. New Business

Dr. Sanders lead a discussion on the subject of allowing Dr. Bhalla a Research Professor to have full membership in the graduate faculty. Discussion ensued. No motion was made.

VI. Adjournment

The meeting adjourned at 4:50p.m.