Latest Information Roadrunner Return Fall 2020 | Coronavirus Updates

Fall 2014 Presidential Dissertation Fellowship Recipients

November 12, 2014

The Graduate School is pleased to announce the recipients of the Fall 2014 Presidential Dissertation Fellowship. In recognition of outstanding scholarship in their field, each of the six recipients will receive this financial award to assist them with the completion of their dissertation research.

The recipients of the Presidential Dissertation Fellowships for Fall 2014 include:

  • Sina Ehsani, Candidate for the Ph.D. in Finance
    College of Business
    Dissertation Title: Three essays on risk and uncertainty.
  • Sandra Garza, Candidate for the Ph.D. in Culture, Literacy, and Language
    College of Education and Human Development
    Dissertation Title: Güeras y prietas: Interrogating Chicana/Tejana discursive experiences with colorism through regional history and ethno-pláticas.
  • Chad Furl, Candidate for the Ph.D. in Environmental Science and Engineering
    College of Engineering
    Dissertation Title: Hydrometeorological extremes in central Texas: Runoff and soil erosion.
  • Stephanie Ramirez, Candidate for the Ph.D. in Anthropology
    College of Liberal and Fine Arts
    Dissertation Title: The impact of seasonal variation in resource availability on the feeding and ranging patterns of female spider monkeys (ateles geoffroyi).
  • Matthew Martinez, Candidate for the Ph.D. in Applied Demography
    College of Public Policy
    Dissertation Title: Dropout legacy: Exploring the effects of historic neighborhood contexts on contemporary individual and neighborhood dropout behavior.
  • Santhi Abbaraju, Candidate for the Ph.D. in Chemistry
    College of Sciences
    Dissertation Title: Novel organocatalyzed aldol and Michael reactions and enantioselective synthesis of 2-amino-4H-chromene derivatives.

The Graduate School would like to congratulate each one of the fellowship recipients and wish them the best in the completion of their dissertation.